Recordings are a very important service that the Albany County Clerk's Office provides. A recording is any document that needs to be a matter of permanent, public record. Most often a recording pertains to real property within the county; including deeds, mortgages, contracts for deed, mining claims, plat maps and surveys, etc. Our office also records Military Discharge papers (DD214s) but those documents are not a matter of public record.
The Albany County Clerk's Office Real Estate department is a recording depository only. We cannot provide legal advice on what, when, why or how to record a document. Our office strongly suggests going to a licensed attorney to prepare documents to record. All documents recorded must comply with Wyoming State Statutes.
Recording a document can be done in person, via mail, or through an eRecording vendor. Address for walk-ins and submitting documents by mail:
Albany County Clerk
Attn: Real Estate
525 Grand Ave. Room 202
Laramie, WY 82070
eRecording: Save time and money by eRecording your documents. Secure and accurate fee processing, enhanced document tracking, as well as eliminating mailing time and check writing. Please be aware these services do carry fees to sign up and use. To get started with eRecording in Albany County, contact one of the vendors listed below:
- Corporate Services Company (CSC): 866-652-0111
- Simplifile: 800-460-5657
Requirements for recording a document:
- All documents must be the original. Certified copies are only permissible when recording documents previously filed in court.
- All signatures on the document must be properly notarized.
- All documents affecting real property must contain a legal description.
- Each deed or Contract for Deed filed must be accompanied by a Wyoming Statement of Consideration (SOC). It is the buyer’s responsibility to fully complete the SOC. The SOC is a confidential document used by the County Assessor’s office and doesn’t become public record.
- Documents must also be submitted with the proper recording fees as indicated below.
- If the document is amending, releasing, or otherwise related to a previously recorded document, including the document number or book and page of the previously recorded document is highly recommended for accurate recording.
- All documents must be clearly readable.
- We will not accept documents containing white-out or information that has already been redacted.
Real Estate Recording Fee Schedule:
$3.00/each (documents printed as double-sided count as one page of recording per side)
Additional grantor or claim name after five (5)
Additional legal description after ten (10)
$1.00/each section or block
Additional relating number or book and page after two (2)
Records or Survey (W.S.S. §33-29-139)
Requesting Copies of Documents:
The best way to obtain copies of documents in our records is to access our two online databases. (Research Recorded Documents) Our staff is not currently set up to email documents directly from our system. Please be advised that both databases carry a subscription fee. Copies of documents are available in our office for a fee of $0.25/page. Copies of plats and surveys rendered in person are $5.00/each.