Property Review & Appeal

Property owner participation and education is key to a fair system of taxation. My goal is to ensure all taxpayers are aware of their rights and to make the process efficient and easily understood by the property owner.

  1. Calendar of Events
  2. Basic Procedures
  3. Review Process
  4. Formal Appeal Process

Wyoming Statute 39-13-103 directs that all property will be listed, valued and assessed as of January 1st of each year. Notices of Value must be mailed to all property owners on or before the 4th Monday of April. Albany County aims to mail on the 1st or 2nd Wednesday of April every year. 

Wyoming Statute 39-13-109(b)(i) requires persons wishing to contest their assessment to file, not later than 30 days after the date of the Notice of Value, a statement with the Assessor outlining their reason or disagreement with the assessment. The Assessor and Petitioner must disclose witnesses and exchange information, evidence and documents relevant to the appeal no later than 30 days prior to the scheduled County Board of Equalization hearing. Hearings are typically scheduled mid-August to early-September. The County Board of Equalization must have a written decision by October 1st.